Trying to understand the importance/role of AV Receivers

james_bond

I wanted to know the answer to this question for a long time.

Almost all PC motherboards these days offer multichannel audio with no extra sound card needed.

You can buy a speaker like this one >>> Click here and connect the three 3.5mm jacks to the rear of a PC and you get surround sound.

Then why buy an expensive AV receiver ? I am just a newbie & know almost nothing about the subject so please educate me.

Using only Linux since 2007. Not a single MS Windows or Mac client at home.

An AV receiver is primarily for use with many input devices. Cable/satellite box, Blu-ray/DVD player, HTPC, console, streaming box, bluetooth, TV, etc. If you're only attaching a PC to your sound system and TV it's fine to attach it directly, although the audio hardware in it is much lower quality, but if you want 8 devices to play through the same speakers/TV an AV receiver is usually the best choice.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Desktop:

Intel Core i7-11700K | Noctua NH-D15S chromax.black | ASUS ROG Strix Z590-E Gaming WiFi  | 32 GB G.SKILL TridentZ 3200 MHz | ASUS TUF Gaming RTX 3080 | 1TB Samsung 980 Pro M.2 PCIe 4.0 SSD | 2TB WD Blue M.2 SATA SSD | Seasonic Focus GX-850 Fractal Design Meshify C Windows 10 Pro

Laptop:

HP Omen 15 | AMD Ryzen 7 5800H | 16 GB 3200 MHz | Nvidia RTX 3060 | 1 TB WD Black PCIe 3.0 SSD | 512 GB Micron PCIe 3.0 SSD | Windows 11

34 minutes ago, james_bond said:

I wanted to know the answer to this question for a long time.

Almost all PC motherboards these days offer multichannel audio with no extra sound card needed.

You can buy a speaker like this one >>> Click here and connect the three 3.5mm jacks to the rear of a PC and you get surround sound.

Then why buy an expensive AV receiver ? I am just a newbie & know almost nothing about the subject so please educate me.