Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Smassive

Dac/amp with chat/game mix

Posted · Original PosterOP

Hi All,

New to the forum and hope you can help me. I am fairly new to the revelation of semi decent audio and have recently purchased a separate headphone and mic setup. I had previously been using a Steelseries Arctis 7 gaming headset which I found got quite heavy after a couple hours of use. However, it had some functions that I liked and am unable to do with my current setup. Firstly the audio automatically switched between speakers and headset when the headset was turned on/off and secondly it had a separate game/chat control as well as onboard main volume.

I mainly use the headphones when gaming with others and revert to speakers when playing solo. This often means I have to go into various game/discord/windows audio settings to get things back to usable levels after switching. I would like to get a dac or amp that would have the following functionality:

USB input from PC

Mic input

Outputs to headphones and speakers with easy switching between the two

Volume control

Game/chat mix control

I have looked at the Astro Mixamp pro but not sure if it can easily switch between headphone and speaker audio. Also the some of the reviews aren't spectacular. I'm not an audiophile but I am lazy, and getting annoyed with switching between two configs.

Cheers

Mix control would be easiest with a software mixer, something along the lines of voicemeeter. It can be done externally, but would require setting per-app audio output and a full blown mixer, not just a dac/amp.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Desktop:

Intel Core i7-3820 | Corsair H100i | ASUS P9X79-LE | 16GB Patriot Viper 3 1866MHz DDR3 | MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G | 2TB WD Blue M.2 SATA SSD | 2TB Hitachi Deskstar HDD | 1TB WD Black HDD | Corsair CX750M Fractal Design Define R5 Windows 10 Pro / Linux Mint 19 Cinnamon

Laptop: