Hades Chillin'

GregEl

Greetings from Greece.

This is my first build log and my first mod.

So here we go. This is project:

li4.png

Parts list:

Mobo: Asus P8Z77 deluxe

CPU: Intel i5 3570k @ 4.1GHz + XSPC Raystorm

RAM: 8GB G.skill Ares 2133MHz

Data: OCZ Vertex 4 128GB + WD Green 2TB + Seagate GoFlex 3TB usb 3.0

Graphics: Sapphire HD7970 3GB + EKWB

Sound: Xonar Xense + Sennheiser PC350

PSU: Corsair AX1200

Cooling: 360 Alphacool UT60 + 240 Alphacool UT60 with eloop noiseblockers + D5 with XSPC dual 5.25 reservoir

I know the PSU is overkill, but I want at some point to get a second graphics card.

This was Hades:

qw1z.jpg

I don’t put much thinking into naming. I have always called my main gaming/performance rig Hades, my mobile computer Hermes and my server Atlas.

So I decided to do a custom watercooling setup for Hades but the 600T didn’t have enough space for the radiators I wanted. I didn’t want to ruin such a good case by “frankensteining” it. So I went for the pc desk route. Now I have seen many pc desk mods out there. I wanted to do something that hasn’t been done a lot. Some pc desks are very cool but a bit over the top and not that practical and some are just brown ugly iWoods. I wanted a modern style desk, with the right color scheme and most of all with efficient use of space. So I made one :)

Here are some pictures: (Sorry for the quality, all images are from my Nokia N9 smartphone)

The sketchup design to visualize my idea. Sorry I am not that good at sketchup.

xkh.png

The materials for the desk at my workstation aka my balcony.

7ynz.jpg

Some progress done, materials stored. Going for wine with friends.

d6m3.jpg

Putting things together the next day

vu4b.jpg

The motherboard tray from milky plexi with the help of a local advert-signs store that had plexi (I don’t have tools to work with plexiglass)

7dhf.jpg

Got a new graphics card to watercool, but man reference 7970s are so hard to find these days in my country.

zkv1.jpg