starting a gaming internet cafe, what are your thoughts?

saif96

i've been thinking about this for years, setting up a gaming internet cafe which i would place near the largest university in my city so people can just relax and have a fun time after classes or during their breaks, the area im thinking of doing hasn't been completed yet its just filled with dirt roads and construction but this area is planned to be the next big city in my country, right now theirs only a university, but in the future theirs going to be houses, business, buildings the area could be really cheap if i get it

im not really a business guy, my degree is media and communication so i dont know how running a business works but i really love pc gaming and i always thought that having a internet cafe near collages, schools would be a great thing to have, what do you think? 

what should i take into consideration before even pursuing this idea in the future?

1. Don’t have 1 avenue of income. 

If you look at the gaming hotel, they have a hotel & the gaming. I have a gaming computer at home & it’s cheaper in the long run to buy my own pc. 

2. Know your audience. If you must do gaming, know that it might not be the most profitable part of your business-if people in the area don’t care about gaming cafe, then you should try to have other things there on your property to tie into number 1. 

3. Don’t give anything away for free. Always come out on top. Try not to scam though as you won’t keep regulars if you pull too much money from them. 

4. Advertise. I don’t know you have a gaming cafe. I just go between class at college, the dorm and food. 

Edit:

5. Don’t count your money before you get it 

6. Make sure you have extra money. Don’t blow your whole budget before you have customers as it can take time for people to hear about you. 

7. Insurance. 

8. Consult or hire an experienced business person.