[Advice Needed] PC First Person Shooter game for an absolute Beginner

Hey all! o/

Need some game recommendations for a good singleplayer First Person Shooter on the PC that would be good for an absolute beginner to the genre.

Wife is interested in trying her hand and insisted on the new Doom as she 'used to be pretty good at classic Doom'... Needless to say much shrieking and flailing about ensued. :-P

Is there any simple first person shooter on the PC, preferably singleplayer, that anyone could recommend? Wife is a complete beginner in this genre. She's not much of a gamer, but since she is showing some interest, I want to encourage it. :-)

@Archon42 Well pc I think I good starter shooter would actually have to be the classic call of duty campaigns so the likes of MW1,MW2, WaW, BO1 those to me seem pretty starter level. 

The only issue with the MW1 would be the Sniping mission and the one after where you have to push through the town in a time limit other than that it should be sweet.

I Would have recommended Halo but you guys only have the Classic Halo CE on pc so :/ 

Some people prefer a challenge, I just band my head against a wall until my method works...

12 minutes ago, Archon42 said:

Need some game recommendations for a good singleplayer First Person Shooter on the PC that would be good for an absolute beginner to the genre.

Skyrim. Any games where you take your time and learn how to move, interact, and react. Shooters are more about reaction time and coordination which beginners won't have yet.

Then try Portal if she can stomach the puzzles and orientation changing. Wouldn't do that one first, but certainly after a game like Skyrim it should be fine. :)

Actually I'd recommend the 2016 Doom on the easiest setting for a beginner. Maybe turn on god mode and other cheats if need be.

OBSIDIAN: CPU AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | MB ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Hero Wifi | RAM Corsair Dominator RGB 32gb 3600 | GPU ASUS ROG Strix RTX 2080 Ti OC |