Mac vs Windows for programming?

Pavilion

I own a MacBook 15" retina it's one of my favorite laptops and I own an iMac 5k which is my main home device

I'm now studying programming at the college all the software that the college use in windows platform even the explanation in windows.

so I'm thinking of getting a build with GTX 1080 and sell the iMac to have the benefit of both Windows and Mac? is it ok to switch sides when programming or should I stay with one platform to learn?

any advice or suggestions?

Thanks,

AMD Ryzen 1700x

Asus Crosshair VI Hero

GTX 1070

16gb RAM 2333Mhz

500gb Samsung SSD

Windows 10 & Linux

5 minutes ago, Pavilion said:

I own a MacBook 15" retina it's one of my favorite laptops and I own an iMac 5k which is my main home device

I'm now studying programming at the college all the software that the college use in windows platform even the explanation in windows.

so I'm thinking of getting a build with GTX 1080 and sell the iMac to have the benefit of both Windows and Mac? is it ok to switch sides when programming or should I stay with one platform to learn?

Thanks,

What kind of programming? If your talking about Microsoft's Visual Studio, then yes, selling the iMac would be sensible. However, if its somthing like HTML or somthing you don't need an IDE that is restricted to windows, you can use an editor like notepad+ or brackets (I prefer brackets - its free too) or any other code editor.

If you do get a Windows PC, what you could do is use remote desktop to connect to it from your mac so you do all of your work on the pc. However, saying all that, I prefer to do all of my work on my laptops, either my SONY VAIO or my chromebook, which has linux and chrome OS dualbooted. I then sync everything through Google drive.