Pc will not turn on- psu clicks once

Hi, I'm a new pc builder. I finished my first build and it powered on no problem. Threw an unactivated copy of windows 10 on and was using it for a couple of days. Halfway through the first Mass Effect game, it just dies. Every atempt to turn it back on would result in the psu clicking once. I looked online and the next step I found was to breadboard. I took the core components out and set it on my motherboard box to see what the problem was and it still wouldn't start. The psu still clicked once. I cleared the cmos and made sure the cpu cooler, ram, and power cables were properly secured. 

I'm running a i5 6600k @ 4.2 gHz (I think its stable bc i ran some stress tests), 1x8 gb stick balistix sport ddr4, gigabyte z170xp-sli, coolermaster hyper 212 evo, crucial 240gb ssd, rx480, and a rm550w from corsair.

Whats the next step? How can I fix this issue? If not, should I just start the return process? For what components?

Thanks for your help.

I'm not sure but i think that's a security thing in your PSU activating.

If you turn on your PC the PSU shouldn't make a click noise.

What i would do is take out the RX 480 and connect your monitor to the iGPU (the ports on the motherboard) and reset the CMOS once more and try again.

I'm afraid something died and it's now just finding out what.

Is there maybe a burning smell or something? Visually inspect every PCB for burn marks and check every connector for burned/melted stuff.

If you want my attention, quote meh! D: or just stick an @samcool55 in your post :3

Spying on everyone to fight against terrorism is like shooting a mosquito with a cannon

You try a different power outlet? Reseat memory?

Suck that you don't have a debug LED on your motherboard, but it sounds like the PSU bit the dust to save your system for some reason.

7 minutes ago, Monimar said: