Time to upgrade the i5-6600K Help!

Hey All,

Some time ago I posted about my build.  When I started playing in 3440x1440 I noticed that my FPS was just not cutting it. I discovered my CPU utilization was hitting 100% causing FPS hit and stuttering.

So started playing with the CPU Over Clocking settings and now I have my i5-6600K at 4.3 Ghz, yet I still see my CPU is bottle necking and impacting game performance.

Now I need your help! I am trying to decide if I should upgrade to an i7-6700K 4.0Ghz or go with one of the new Intel Broadwell-E 6-Core 3.4 GHz  CPU that is out?  I know, I'd also have to switch out the Motherboard as well if I did change from the Skylake CPU.  But I am open to ideas of getting the best but not going crazy with the money.  

Current Build:

Monitor: ASUS ROG PG348 (34" Ultra Wide Screen) G-SYNC

Case: Fractal Design - Define R5
Mobo: ASUS Maximus VIII Hero
CPU: Intel i5-6600K
RAM: 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Mhz (XMP Quad Channel)
GPU: GeForce GTX1080 Founders Edition (just upgraded)
PSU: EVGA Supernova 1000 G2 80+Gold
Storage: Samsung 950 PRO M.2 512GB
CPU Cooling: Corsair H100i GTX 240mm Liquid CPU Cooler
Keyboard: Corsair K70 RGB

Mouse: Corsair M65 RGB

So my plan is to get the nerve up to do a custom liquid cooling solution but it seems a lot more work than it is worth. 

Thanks for taking the time to read this!

Shep

the i7 6700k is one of the best cpus for gaming. the new 6 core processors like the 6800k are mostly for server and rendering work. It wouldn't be the most bang for your buck cpu

Broadwell-E is extreme overkill for a gaming rig, and the cost of a more expensive CPU and a brand new (and very expensive) motherboard wouldn't be nearly worth the meager performance gain you'd get from a 6800K. If you want a new CPU, the 6700K makes the most sense from where you are.

Aerocool DS are the best fans you've never tried.