"Absolute Silence" an attempt to build a silent, mid-range powerhouse.

Demos

Hey there all, this is my first build log! So please forgive any nooby mistakes along the way smile.gif

Current Parts List

Intel i5 3570k

Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H

Corsair Vengeance 8gb DDR3 1600mhz

Sapphire Radeon 7870 OC Ghz edition

Antec HCG-M 620w PSU

Samsung 830 1208b (Boot drive)

Samsung 840 120gb (Games drive)

Seagate Barracuda 1TB Removed due to noise

Fractal Arc Midi. Gone. Fractal Define R4

Antec Kuhler 620, Corsair H100i. Gone. RMA'd the Corsair H100i, could not fix pump grinding issue

Origin

In December last year I built my first gaming rig, with graphic design capabilities. It performs just as I'd like, works great in games at mid-high settings and handled Photoshop and Illustrator like a champ. My only issue with it was that it was loud when it was idle, and insanely loud at load.

In an effort to curb this, I bought a PWM Fan for my Antec Kuhler 620, which minimised my noise levels by a small amount, but the pump on the Antec was still the loudest part of my system. I put up with this for a few months until I could afford new parts, having just spent $1600NZD on my build.

d5120fee_IMG_0957.jpeg

Idea

My idea for this build log is to toy with my system and try and get the quietest possible system, while idle. I don't care a whole lot about noise-levels during gaming, as I generally wear headphones. I'd also like to attempt some minor modding in my system. Maybe a window mod in the case, or something along those lines. Suggestions are welcomed, and encouraged :)

Current status, as of 7th March 2013.

I've transplanted my system from the Arc Midi into my brand-new Fractal Define R4, I've taken out the Seagate Barracuda and placed in a second SSD, and removed the drive cages. Pictures coming soon, getting a new camera in the next few days.