How do I PC?

DrOuchy

Hi guys,

I thought most of you would like to know that I've been a console gamer my entire life and I've recently discovered that I can build a PC for nearly the same price as a console and with a much better gaming performance.  I also see the money that can be saved by building my own PC and upgrading the components rather than just buying a new PC every 3 years or so.  Not to mention the sheer power increase whenever you start upgrading to serious shiznit.  Needless to say I was intrigued.  I'm a student engineer at heart, and the added bonus of being able to build my PC really scratched an itch.

I already have what I want to buy listed below.  I just want to know if everything is compatible and within the size constraints of the tower.  I've measured it and rechecked the slots:  The motherboard socket and CPU must be compatible.  The DDR3 memory slots on the motherboard must be compatible with the DDR3 RAM in the bundle.  I'm posting today to check and make sure I did it correctly, this being my first time.

Just note guys!  I have very little experience with all computer components!  If you need to know how dumb to go: keep the technical jargon to say to a level a chimp would understand.

1. Budget & Location

The limit to my budget is about 450 US dollars.  I found a good bundle on newegg that appears to be about what I am looking for.  I'll post the link below as well as the list of components contained in the link in case your just feeling lazy today.  Note guys:  I'm just looking to ensure that the following parts are compatible with one another.  Any opinions on better components are appreciated but we would have to save them for a later upgrade.

https://secure.newegg.com/Shopping/ShoppingCart.aspx?submit=ChangeItem

CPU:

AMD FX-6300 Vishera 6-Core 3.5 GHs (4.1 GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 95W FD6300WHKBOX Desktop Processor

GPU: