So I want to build a RAID server... help?

I've built several PCs but never a RAID server. In fact (quite embarassingly :P I've never used RAID before).  Basically I am not sure where to start, since the requirements for a server are so different from a PC.  This server would not be used as a final backup solution, but rather for video footage storage while working, and short term storage. Final backup would be onto LTO drives.

I know I want enterprise grade drives with UREs at least 10^15, but beyond that not much.  So what I don't know about is:

• CPU: Probably a Xeon
  • Motherboard: Never shopped for a server mobo before, not sure.
  • Memory: I'm assuming something with ECC, but not sure how much
  • RAID Controller: No clue about good brands / types here either
  • OS: Not sure, maybe FreeNAS? My main consideration is driver compatibility for any interface cards I'd be installing now and in the future, such as Thunderbolt III or whatever.
  • Array: Probably going to use RAID 6, but was thinking about ZFS because I hear good things about it.

Anyone want to point me in the right direction?

FReeNas is great. Hit me up if you need help.

Just because you don't care, doesn't mean other others don't. Don't be a self-centered asshole. -Thank You a PSA from the people who do not say random shit on the internet. 

dont bother with raid for home use, its not worth it.

The Xeon you choose will depend on what software you plan on running on the sever. Same with RAM too.

Supermicro make really good boards for server use, I have one myself and they are really good.

The RAID controller is a key component, I personally prefer and use an LSI card.

You could run Windows Server 2012 R2, and run hardware RAID using the RAID controller and not have to have extortionate amounts of RAM.

I'm currently building a 96TB server so if there is anything you need, let me know.

Comb it with a brick