(Newbie) Do I need a AMP/DAC to run bookshelf speakers from my PC?

Go to solution Solved by creatip123,

First of all, make sure which speakers you're buying. Is it active (powered) or passive (un-powered) one. If buying from brick and mortar, like walmart, it's easily identifiable. Just see if they got an on-off switch and/or a power cable. If it got them, it's active, otherwise, it's passive.

Active speakers work the exact same as those tiny multimedia speakers. They don't need an additional amp. Plug to power line, switch on, plug the audio jack, and good to go. 

Passives need an additional amp. There are cheap options, like the Lepai 2020A (review in my sig) that's good for just about anything short of tower speakers. 

Hi, I'm new to decent audio stuff sorry so bare with me.

I read that FAQ about sound cards and AMPs/DACs etc. I was just wondering if I can run bookshelf speakers from my PC without having a soundcard/AMP/DAC?

I'm running speakers from a 3.5mm audio jack at the moment and nothing is fuzzy or anything so according to the FAQ I don't need a soundcard to improve my experience.

I'm looking into buying some bookshelf speakers and I was wondering if I can save money by not having to buy an AMP/DAC. Can I run bookshelf speakers from a 3.5mm audio jack with some sort of splitter cable into banana plugs and some sort of power to them? Even if I can, am I better off getting a little AMP thing to improve the audio quality?

I'm sorry if this all sounds stupid as I don't really know what I'm talking about. Please just explain to me like you would a child haha.

Thanks!

Speakers usually have their own amps in them and a DAC won't make a huge difference.

Asrock 890GX Extreme 3 - AMD Phenom II X4 955 @3.50GHz - Arctic Cooling Freezer XTREME Rev.2 - 4GB Kingston HyperX - AMD Radeon HD7850 - Kingston V300 240GB - Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB - Chieftec APS-750 - Cooler Master HAF912 PLUS

osu! profile

Hi, I'm new to decent audio stuff sorry so bare with me.