Review Request for Acer v15/v17 Nitro

Just wondering if we can get a review from Linus for this Notebook/Ultrabook Seems like a too good to be true deal. Thin, Attractive, moderately powerful with what appears to be a good quality IPS display panel? Thoughts from the community welcome. I'm a graphic design student and a gamer and I'm trying to figure out if this could be the godsend for me as someone who refuses to work on or pay for a macbook. 

post-218210-0-37455600-1427436740.jpg

post-218210-0-37455600-1427436740.jpg

"good quality IPS" do not exist on laptops. The best you'll find are 6-bit colour, 72% NTSC gamut panels, which are about the same (minus the viewing angle differences and response time differences) to a decent laptop TN panel. Please don't be fooled that IPS automatically = better.

Next, that machine is not designed to be put under lots of CPU stress. Just looking at it, it can't cool properly, unless you get an ULV CPU in it... and I don't know if they alternate between good power and low-end. The fact that a macbook would have sufficed however tells me that you would not be using much CPU or GPU power anyway, so that should not be a huge worry... but I am making sure you are aware of this fact anyway.

Finally, I don't particularly trust Acer to give very good products from my experiences with them, but you can read a decent (though slightly outward-build-quality-biased) review from notebookreview here http://www.notebookcheck.net/Acer-Aspire-V15-Nitro-VN7-591G-77A9-Notebook-Review.128435.0.html about it.

I hope this helps you some. If you really want a decent small machine, I could point you to the Clevo W230SD as well, though that is a 13": http://www.xoticpc.com/sager-np7339-clevo-w230sd-p-8073.html?wconfigure=yes

I have finally moved to a desktop. Also my guides are outdated as hell.

THE INFORMATION GUIDES: SLI INFORMATION || vRAM INFORMATION || MOBILE i7 CPU INFORMATION || Maybe more someday