This is how to set someone's computer on fire

Hey guys here's a guide on how to set someone's computer on fire, and fry 3 of their USB components.

For a little bit of back story, my friend asked me to build him a computer. His old case was too small, so I swapped it with my sister's case. No big deal, I've been putting computers together on my own for a few years now and switching everything over to one case will be no problem. 

TL;DR,

READ. THE. FUCKING. MANUAL. 

My sister plugged in two of her USB devices; a headset which stopped working instantly, and a webcam which shorted when plugged in, causing the USB port to melt and cause a small match-size fire that burned out when the surge protection kicked in.

Here are some pictures to document what happened.

post-126364-0-10905000-1415086287_thumb.
Veteran eyes, tell me if you see what is wrong here.

I assumed since the audio cable was right next to the line of 3 pins, that the 4pin connector should go inside of it. Sometimes cables aren't used (like when plugging in a 3pin fan into a 4pin connector)

post-126364-0-30495900-1415086347.png
Here's a motherboard document for reference.

post-126364-0-41730100-1415086367_thumb.
This is where I fucked up. The ground was plugged into the 5v+ pin, and the 5v+ slot was plugged into the ground pin, causing a short.

Here are a few pictures of the damage done. I owe my sister a new headset, a new webcam, and a new whatever got ruined by getting plugged into that port.

post-126364-0-26695900-1415086525_thumb.

post-126364-0-24813600-1415086540_thumb.

post-126364-0-98143300-1415086544_thumb.

Be thank full that doesn't have to be something more expensive like an GPU or even PSU. I have burned ones my PSU, in same kind of scenario.. 

Failure is not an option!

Whew.

That could've gone wrong in so many ways though.

Be thankful you didn't end up as the next Austin Evans.

Who's Austin Evans? -googles-