Mechanical keyboard horror story. We need a video about this.

So, be prepared for a sleepless night...

It was a regular night. I was watching some documentary in 480p from youtube. I have three monitors, but only the middle one was on, displaying the program. I had a big glass of some cheap cola with ice in front of me. Between me and my Corsair k95. When the documentary got really boring, and I decided to quit watching it, I raised my right arm to turn on the monitor left of my middle monitor. And a disaster strikes. The glass of soda is all over my desk, mainly on the almost new keyboard. Computer is going crazy, programs opening by themselves.

When I realized what had happened, I turned the keyboard upside down, and unplugged it. The computer stopped doing crazy stuff. I had a very expensive and very dead keyboard that cost me almost two months salary. (coz I'm a poor student living home and not spoiled by my parents) I spent the whole night up trying to dry it. I disassembled it, carefully drained all the liquid inside. I had to take apart the section where the macro/lighting mode keys are, because the substance had got between the two contact surfaces under the buttons.

In the morning I plugged the keyboard in. It worked. Backlighting worked just fine. But when I tried to write my password, I couldn't press the buttons. They were stuck. With some amount of force I got them moving, but mainly unusable for writing or gaming. not all of the switches were stuck, Only some on the left side of the keyboard. wasd was stuck, esc was stuck, all the G-keys were stuck, Left control, shift and Alt were stuck. And a couple keys around them.

At this point I promised to myself to never again drink or eat anything, or keep liquids or food on my pc desk. I arranged a side desk that is lower than my pc desk for food and other substances that may be harmful for electronic devices.