Building a Simple and User Friendly System Information Monitor

Flatt

Hello, LTT Forums!

I am a computer science student and I wish to create a desktop widget that displays information pertaining to your system, like Hardware Info but in a more user friendly way. I am aware of that AzureAI plugin widget, but I find that it doesn't always function that well. I also know that you can just see all this in task manager too, but I want something that can sit on my desktop and show me all the info I want in an easy to read manner.

Either way, before I get to actually making it, I was wondering, if I were to release this somewhere, what kind of features people would like to see! Since my intention is to make it for Windows desktop computers, I figured I'd share my thoughts here.

I don't know how long this project will end up taking me, though, as I am basically just starting out in learning coding. I may end up posting updates on this project both here, and on Reddit for feedback.

The attached image is everything I have thought of so far, with the exception of network utilization. The yellow text is the features I can think of. The point of this project is for this app/widget to be light weight and extremely user friendly for those who don't know that much about computers, but still want to monitor its health easily.

Obviously, this is no where close to the final product. I'm also planning on adding little start-up animations for fun.

It will probably end up being open source and on GitHub.

Feedback and feature suggestions are much appreciated! (Apologies for my bad hand-writing.)

First Mock-Up for UI with basic notes