Way to test students on computer use?

Niqht1

I think this will be the best place to post this..

I am a 7th/8th grade teacher and they have no idea how to use computers 😕 I want to make a section about computer usage, but I need a way to check and test them over it. Might anyone have any ideas? I would love to have as much as possible in a program that has them use key commands and does certain functions, but.. I don't know how practical that is. I have used VB to make a program long ago, and that could cover some things, but I don't know to what extent at this point.

And for reference, I mean things like shortcuts (undo, redo, save, and other program specific ones), opening file explorer and navigating somewhere, moving/copying, perhaps detect if they go to the start menu and open a certain program, stuff along this line. Something to use it then test them on doing it. But perhaps this is a dream 😕

Today your typical 7/8th grader is going to have more than some experience with a pc, back in the 90's the common age of pc understanding was 3/4/5th graders.

I should ask what specific things on a pc are you wanting to teach? There are several programs that teach basic pc usage but they are designed for younger ages. 7/8th graders are likely ready for language and coding introduction.

COMMUNITY STANDARDS   |   TECH NEWS POSTING GUIDELINES   |   FORUM STAFF

LTT Folding Users Tips, Tricks and FAQ   |   F@H & BOINC Badge Request   |   F@H Contribution    My Rig   |   Project Steamroller

I am a Moderator, but I am fallible. Discuss or debate with me as you will but please do not argue with me as that will get us nowhere.

Spoiler

Character is like a Tree and Reputation like its Shadow. The Shadow is what we think of it; The Tree is the Real thing.  ~ Abraham Lincoln

Reputation is a Lifetime to create but seconds to destroy.

You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life.  ~ Winston Churchill