13900K vs 7950X

Laakso

Hi!

I made a post a few years ago about what GPU to go with. I have been using my i7 6700K with my 3070 for about 2 years now, it has mostly been going great even though I know I am leaving a lot of performance on the table.

But when MW2 came out, I started experiencing FPS drops like never before. Which means that it's time for a well needed upgrade. But I'm not sure what I should choose.

I've been looking for the top of the top on both side, which are 13900K and 7950X, because I don't want to upgrade in a LOONG time after this.

A little background on what I do. I mostly play games, and mostly fps games, but I like content creation and streaming. So I want to be able to do it all without a problem.

At the moment I have 3 screens, 170hz 1440p, 144hz 1080p and 60hz 1080p. Though I'm planning on upgrading the two 1080p to 1440p aswell.

So which one would be the best for my upgrade? I understand that there may not be a clear winner here, mostly wanna hear what you think and if you have experience with any of them.

Thank you so much in advance, feel free to ask me anything if something is unclear.

Have a great day everyone!

Edited by Laakso
Grammar and spelling to make it easier to understand

It's the usual topic, but on the flagship side. On one side you have the 13900K which in most cases is either on par with the fastest gaming CPU or really close to it, but is now on a dead platform. On the other you have the first gen of the new AM5 platform and with the added expenses of the early adoption. But since you HAVE to get a whole new system whichever way you go, i'd go AMD with 7950X This way at least when the next gen comes out or the new 3D V-cache CPUs come out, i'll be just a bios flash away from a new upgrade. 

| Ryzen 7 5800X3D | Arctic Liquid Freezer II 360 Rev 7| AsRock X570 Steel Legend |

| 4x16GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo 4000MHz CL16 | Sapphire Nitro+ RX 6900 XT | Seasonic Focus GX-1000|