CompSci Major Research Project

Zalosath

Hi all!

I'm in my final year of Computer Science and I'm looking for major project ideas!

Criteria:

- Needs to be a gap in research, I.E. there can be existing research papers on the topic, but I must expand on them in some way.

- Complex enough for an 8000 word report.

- A reasonable amount of existing research in the area (lit review)

A couple of ideas I had are as follows;
- Computer Vision system for detecting a failing 3D print as it prints, was declined by project lead because "systems like this already exist and there's little to expand into".
- Some kind of maze generator with an optimized path finder to complete it (didn't get chance to flesh this one out before, 1. realising it's not complex enough, and 2. it getting declined by the project lead)

Unfortunately, both have been declined by my project lead for various reasons. 

I love AI, algorithms, games (making), 3D printing, computers, programming, talking with friends, food! 

Project lead says to avoid AI though since previous students have had trouble in this area.

So, do you have any ideas?

If not, do you have any daily activities that can be improved by use of software?

I greatly appreciate any and all ideas, I really need some inspiration here! Cheers!

Main PC [ CPU AMD Ryzen 9 7900X3D with H150i ELITE CAPPELIX  GPU Nvidia 3090 FE  MBD ASUS ROG STRIX X670E-A  RAM Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB@5600MHz  PSU HX1000i  Case Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic  Monitor LG UltraGear 1440p 32" Nano IPS@180Hz  Keyboard Keychron Q6 with Kailh Box Switch Jade  Mouse Logitech G Pro Superlight  Microphone Shure SM7B with Cloudlifter & GoXLR ]

Server [ CPU AMD Ryzen 5 5600G  GPU Intel ARC A380  RAM Corsair VEGEANCE LPX 64GB  Storage 16TB EXOS ]

Phone [ Google Pixel 8 Pro, 256GB, Snow ]