Help with C class please

joemomma22

okay so im just going to post the assignment itself, cause im a super noob with c. i am extremely fluent in java and i have a basic ability using MIPS and the class started doing C now.  i have literally no clue how to do most of the things in c... i could wwrite the entire program in java with no problem lol. Pointers *& kinda confuse me. i dont have syntax down either. 

heres the assignment:

In this lab you will write a C program to sort an array of strings. The program will:

• Create an array of 50 strings; each string can hold up to 30 characters.
  • Write a function to read strings from the file "strings.dat" into your array. Read until EOF and keep track of how many strings you read, as it may be less than 50. Then pass this variable to your print and sort functions so they know how many strings to print and sort. Use fopen to open the file and fgets to read each string.
  • Write a function to sort the strings. Only sort the array entries that contain strings read from the file. See below for pseudocode for selection sort.
  • Write a function to swap two strings, which will be called by your sort function. Pass the array and the subscripts of the two strings that need to be swapped.
  • Write a function to print out the array entries that were read into the array. Use printf.
  • Your main function should call the functions to read into the array, print the array, sort the array, and print the array again.
Selection Sort

for (last = numstr-1; last >= 1; --last) {// select largest item in arr[0..last]loc = indexOfLargest(arr, last+1);// swap largest item arr[loc] with arr[last]swap(arr,loc,last);}int indexOfLargest(arr, numElements){indLarge = 0; // index of largest item found so farfor (curr = 1; curr < numElements ; ++curr) {if (arr[curr] > arr[indLarge])indLarge = curr;}return indLarge;}
Hints