Which linux distro should I use?

Hello,

I am thinking of installing linux.

I am a developer that sometimes plays Minecraft. Which distro should I use?

EDIT:

I do have a bit of experience with linux, I have a raspberry pi with raspbian lite, but I never used linux with GUI

Thank you.

Probably start with Ubuntu. It's pretty much the industry standard and has very good community support. If it works fine for you, then keep using it. If you're not happy with it, there are dozens of newb friendly distros out there for you to try. Linux Mint, PopOS, Zorin, just look up top Linux distros and you'll get tons of articles listing tons of distros. These types of distros hide the true complexity of a Unix-like system from the user to create an easy to learn interface. Fixing issues under the hood can sometimes involve a steep learning curve.

If you do wanna dive right into the Unix-like side of things, Debian and Arch are decent, and there are others like them too.

UI preference, hardware support, lightweightness, etc are all different for all the different distros out there so we can't really tell you a distro that will work well for you first go.

A certain distro might be a buggy mess for one person, while that same distro might work flawlessly for another person.

Anyways, welcome to freedom, the wild west that is the world of Linux, with the good and the bad that comes with it.

lumpy chunks

Expand to help Bunny reach world domination

(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to
(")_(") help him on his way to world domination.

-Rakshit Jain

47 minutes ago, Slottr said:

Will this be your first time using Linux?

Kind of, I have a raspberry pi with raspbian lite, but I never used linux with GUI