DLSS Accelerator Card Thoughts

Bhameck

I was thinking about how DLSS Is a very powerful feature for Nvidia GPUs, and it got me thinking about ways to speed it up. I came up with an idea: Instead of putting the tensor cores for DLSS on the card directly, could you (theoretically) move them off of the GPU die and put it on a separate card? The latency would be higher, but since it would be sending the finished lower res frame to the Tensor Card then upscaling, you could use the Tensor card as the output. Would it make a noticeable difference? You could make a dedicated slot for tensor accelerator cards that is connected to the GPU. Having a dedicated card for DLSS could free more space on the GPU die for more CUDA and RT Cores, making for a faster GPU, so It could run at a higher resolution, thus making DLSS upscale to a proportionally higher output. Since there would be a dedicated card for DLSS,  would that make DLSS work better? I'm not very experienced with GPU architecture and GPU rendering, and I am most likely completely incompetent. Please enlighten me, I would love to learn more and discuss. Thanks

Oh cool, what if we also put the PhysX calculations on an discrete card too? 😮

Desktop: Ryzen 9 3950X, Asus TUF Gaming X570-Plus, 64GB DDR4, MSI RTX 3080 Gaming X Trio, Creative Sound Blaster AE-7

Gaming PC #2: Ryzen 7 5800X3D, Asus TUF Gaming B550M-Plus, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1080

Gaming PC #3: Intel i7 4790, Asus B85M-G, 16B DDR3, XFX Radeon R9 390X 8GB

WFH PC: Intel i7 4790, Asus B85M-F, 16GB DDR3, Gigabyte Radeon RX 6400 4GB

UnRAID #1: AMD Ryzen 9 3900X, Asus TUF Gaming B450M-Plus, 64GB DDR4, Radeon HD 5450

UnRAID #2: Intel E5-2603v2, Asus P9X79 LE, 24GB DDR3, Radeon HD 5450

MiniPC: BeeLink SER6 6600H w/ Ryzen 5 6600H, 16GB DDR5 
Windows XP Retro PC: Intel i3 3250, Asus P8B75-M LX, 8GB DDR3, Sapphire Radeon HD 6850, Creative Sound Blaster Audigy