Where would I ask about this?

I have a device which I’m trying to change the os on, but it uses a rom chip for the os. It’s not an android phone, or any kind of phone, and the current os doesn’t let me install programs. I’m looking for info on how I would change the os, because I think it should be possible. 

ROM = read only memory. I am no expert, but I think you would need to change chip itself... involves soldering and such.

If the device is cheap it's for sure easier buying some alternative.

I’ve seen videos on changing the os on android phones which use rom though. That’s what I thought at first but now I’m not sure.

Just now, Nobody Important said:

I’ve seen videos on changing the os on android phones which use rom though.

Let's start by learning what this phone is. Almost all Android smartphones have a USB flash mode, both built into the bootloader AND into the SoC itself. On top of all that, there is also possibility of flashing with "boxes" which connect to test points on the motherboard or through USB itself without relying on the SoC or the OS. 

mY sYsTeM iS Not pErfoRmInG aS gOOd As I sAW oN yOuTuBe. WhA t IS a GoOd FaN CuRVe??!!? wHat aRe tEh GoOd OvERclok SeTTinGS FoR My CaRd??  HoW CaN I foRcE my GpU to uSe 1o0%? BuT WiLL i HaVE Bo0tllEnEcKs? RyZEN dOeS NoT peRfORm BetTer wItH HiGhER sPEED RaM!!dId i WiN teH SiLiCON LotTerrYyOu ShoUlD dEsHrOuD uR GPUmy SYstEm iS UNDerPerforMiNg iN WarzONEcan mY Pc Run WiNdOwS 11 ?woUld BaKInG MY GRaPHics card fIX it? MultimETeR TeSTiNG!! aMd'S GpU DrIvErS aRe as goOD aS NviDia's YOU SHoUlD oVERCloCk yOUR ramS To 5000C18

35 minutes ago, Nobody Important said:

I have a device which I’m trying to change the os on, but it uses a rom chip for the os. It’s not an android phone, or any kind of phone, and the current os doesn’t let me install programs. I’m looking for info on how I would change the os, because I think it should be possible.