What’s the smallest SSD possible?

Go to solution Solved by JohanKjeldahl7,
2 minutes ago, MrDBD said:

Storage volume

Technically there is no limit how low you can go I think. But the smallest ones I found online which you can buy are 64-128MB (yes, Megabyte, not Gigabyte). But there may be smaller ones for sale in other parts of the world.

3 minutes ago, MrDBD said:

Just interested.

Do you mean the storage volume in GB? Or are you talking about how big it physically is?

But now, fellow gamers, that was it for me. Please keep in mind, that this is just my personal opionion and I am no expert. Your system shall be cooled forever, see you next time.

Storage volume

1 minute ago, JohanKjeldahl7 said:

Do you mean the storage volume in GB? Or are you talking about how big it physically is?

Storage volume

In that case, you could theoretically go down all the way to a single bit

Storage volume

look at chrome books. 32GB eMMC

Storage volume

Technically there is no limit how low you can go I think. But the smallest ones I found online which you can buy are 64-128MB (yes, Megabyte, not Gigabyte). But there may be smaller ones for sale in other parts of the world.

But now, fellow gamers, that was it for me. Please keep in mind, that this is just my personal opionion and I am no expert. Your system shall be cooled forever, see you next time.

Do you have limits on how you define what a SSD is?

For example, CompactFlash cards use the parallel ATA standard (PATA, what we had before SATA). With a mechanical adapter you could use a CF card as a SSD. I think the smallest one I had might be 4MB or 8MB, I don't recall exactly as it was so long ago. 

Gaming system: R7 7800X3D, Asus ROG Strix B650E-F Gaming Wifi, Thermalright Phantom Spirit 120 SE ARGB, Corsair Vengeance 2x 32GB 6000C30, RTX 4070, MSI MPG A850G, Fractal Design North, Samsung 990 Pro 2TB, Acer Predator XB241YU 24" 1440p 144Hz G-Sync + HP LP2475w 24" 1200p 60Hz wide gamut