Advice for replacing my i7 8700 stock cooler

biscut

So basically, i'm not too experienced with this cooling stuff, but for the past year i've been using my i7 8700 (non-k) with the stock cooler, and the temps haven't gone like over 75c, but i've realized it gets really loud during gaming. Not sure if its the CPU but I'm pretty sure is because my GPU is staying around the same fan speed when I hear the loud fan, and I'm pretty sure its one of those two.

So my first question would be, can replacing the stock cooler make it quieter by a decent amount?

And if so, do you recommend any quiet coolers (preferably around or below 50usd)?

6 minutes ago, biscut said:

So my first question would be, will replacing the stock cooler make it quieter by a decent amount?

Yes, if you buy a better cooler. In general, the bigger it is, the better it is. Though, the better it is, the more expensive it is.

Hand, n. A singular instrument worn at the end of the human arm and commonly thrust into somebody’s pocket.

24 minutes ago, biscut said:

So basically, i'm not too experienced with this cooling stuff, but for the past year i've been using my i7 8700 (non-k) with the stock cooler, and the temps haven't gone like over 75c, but i've realized it gets really loud during gaming. Not sure if its the CPU but I'm pretty sure is because my GPU is staying around the same fan speed when I hear the loud fan, and I'm pretty sure its one of those two.

So my first question would be, can replacing the stock cooler make it quieter by a decent amount?

And if so, do you recommend any quiet coolers (preferably around or below 50usd)?

https://smile.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-Hyper-Direct-Contact/dp/B005O65JXI/ref=sr_1_2?keywords=hyper+212+evo&qid=1571887374&sr=8-2

Tried and true Hyper 212 Evo. Its not the best cooler in the world, but it kept my 5 GHz 8700k sub 85c while not being toooo loud before I got my water loop finished. It should drop temps a good bit AND be quieter.