Dell optiplex 990 in a new case or just get a new mobo?

Spawnofglory

I'm a bit new to all of this. I recently got a dell optiplex 990 for my birthday from my wife. It came with an i5 2400 Ive slowly upgraded it to 4 sticks of 4gb ddr3 1333 mhz ram and a evga gtx geforce 750ti along wihh a new 600 watt evga bronze rated psu with an ssd for a boot drive now I'm to the point of having a new cool miniatx case sitting in front of me and just wanna switch it out. After doing some research I've realized it Kay not be so easy with the front panel pinout being proprietary. So my question is this. Should I buy a new motherboard for my components or does someone know how to pin out the dell mobo out correctly? Is it easy enough? If not what motherboard would be compatible with my components? Having a hard time figuring it out I guess. 

I don't make alot of cash for extra things so I'm leaning toward figuring out how to maybe solder the existing wires running from the proprietary switch to the new case maybe if I follow the wire? I have two kids full time with no support from their mother so I'd love to just go out and buy a mobo but even the used ones so for my components seem to cost as much as the Dell. Thank you for the help

Front panel header is usually pretty standard.  Just plug switches and lights into different pins until they do the proper things.

That easy? It is a 34 pin connector that is just in a single clip atm. 

If I plug the new front panel stuff into the incorrect pins will any damage occur? I do know that I'll get the old press f1 to boot and there isn't much of a way around that from what I've been reading.

2 minutes ago, Spawnofglory said:

That easy? It is a 34 pin connector that is just in a single clip atm. 

Probably has USB integrated, you can likely find a pinout on the internet somewhere.