Thin Client Server Requirement?!!

Yusuf Jameel

Greetings.

I need help to set up a server for thin clients. Below are mentioned the details regarding the users and their requirement. How powerful of a Server need I Buy/Build? 

250 Heavy Software Users.

150 Clerical Users.

400 Total Users.

HDD Calculated is 

500GB/Client for Heavy Users (125TB)

100GB/Client for Clerical Users (15TB)

140TB Total

~200TB

Which Raid Should I use?

RAM Calculated is

16GB/Client for Heavy Users (4TB)

8GB/Client for Clerical Users (1.2TB)

OR

8GB/Client throughout (3.2TB)

I know that these numbers might be nonsensical but I guess this gives You a picture for what I need.

I'm a newbie and this is my first attempt at building a Server.

All Help is Appreciated.

Thank You.

Regards,

Yusuf Jameel

EDIT: I am planning to Use HP T730 Thin Client. It has internal RAM which will reduce the cost for server.

Wow that's a serious project. I've not run a thin client setup for over 7 years now so I am not in a position to give direct technical advice. That said I'm not sure anyone will be able to as thin client environment work load vary wildly.

Things you'll have to review are

use case

Sessions type e.g. persistent Vs non persistent sessions.

Applications e.g.cpu heavy, gpu heavy (will you need GFX passthrough) RAM heavy, HDD usage( remember thin client setups write much more often than a conventional system, are you using local storage? Files servers? Sans, hyper converged),

Working patterns e.g. does everyone log in at once, are there shifts, do all the high usage people need access at the same time.

Network e.g. will the current network handle the additional bandwidth, could there be latency issues.

Failure/fault tolerance, how many disks, network connections, servers (this will have to be a multi server environment for 400 concurrent users) can you loose before everything comes crashing down 

Essentially conveying all this information over a forum is probably impossible.