[USA] Ultra-book recommendation under $1000

Go to solution Solved by genexis_x,

Cooling should be the same in both models

6 hours ago, David Wright said:

My main concern is the usb c charging port errors on the X1 carbon, not sure if that is true or not

BIOS/firmware update will solve this

I'm a university student looking for a light and fast 15in / 15.6in laptop under 1000 USD. Here are the specs I'm aiming for:

• Resolution: 1080p (4k is fine but 1080p preferred)
  • Ram: 8gb
  • Storage: 256gb SSD minimum
  • Processor: i5 or i7 U, do not want an H or HQ processor (aiming for higher battery life, hence the 1080p screen as well)

Note: Don't mind touchscreen or 2 in 1 Laptops

Considering most of the main ultrabooks listed below:

1. Dell XPS 13 (really dont want the 13in but the reviews for the 15in model are bad and the 13 seems to have a nice processor and battery)
  2. Asus Zenbook (asus is bashed on for build quality)
  3. Hp Spectre x360 (Linus youtube destroyed this, but the new model looks promising)
  4. Dell Inspiron 7000

If you just want to write your notes on it. Maybe look at a 2nd gen surface laptop (I know it is only 13 inch) but it has a really nice keyboard. If you want to game on it too, the Asus Vivobook K571GT-EB76 is a Bang for your buck at Amazon right now. If you only want battery life the DEll Latitude 14 7400 has with more than 13 hours and is the best on the market (an i5 version with 16gb is under $1000)

@Rabel Appreciate the quick response!

The 2nd gen surface looks great and the features are nice too but I'm biased against it because all of my friends who have owned a surface have run into problems in less than 1 year of owning it.

Do not want a gaming laptop since I have a gaming desktop at home.

The dell Latitude looks great in terms of everything, where can I find the 16gb version? I only see the 8gb version under 1000 on their website. (Attached screenshot below)

Capture.PNG

11 hours ago, David Wright said: