Bought a used PC. How do I check for viruses once I receive it?

I'm buying a used pc from a seller on eBay and was wondering if there was a good and efficient way of checking or getting rid of any viruses that may be on it. I'm fairly new to computer stuff and have only been doing light modifications to a Chromebook. The computer is a Windows 10.

Screenshot (21).png

You don't. You immediately do a clean (and secure) wipe of the hard drive before you even hook it up to your home network then reinstall windows 10. It should activate automatically. You can download the windows 10 iso from microsoft itself. 

https://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/software-download/windows10

It is NEVER.... NEVER. a good idea to use a computer that you bought without wiping the drives. EVER. Who knows what they have on there. Did they write a custom script that keylogs all your info and e-mails it to themselves? It's pretty easy to custom write something to get by modern antivirus scanners. 

5 minutes ago, corrado33 said:

You don't. You immediately do a clean (and secure) wipe of the hard drive before you even hook it up to your home network then reinstall windows 10. It should activate automatically. You can download the windows 10 iso from microsoft itself. 

https://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/software-download/windows10

It is NEVER.... NEVER. a good idea to use a computer that you bought without wiping the drives. EVER. Who knows what they have on there. Did they write a custom script that keylogs all your info and e-mails it to themselves? It's pretty easy to custom write something to get by modern antivirus scanners. 

Would I have to pay to get a product key, or is there a way to get them for free?

Just now, Vepy said:

Would I have to pay to get a product key, or is there a way to get them for free?