Which is more important? Anti-static wrist strap or anti-static mat?

It is my first time building a pc, I can only buy one of this because of the fixed budget. I wonder if what is more important, anti-static wrist strap or anti-static mat? Linus often use or recommend using the motherboard box for placing all of the components, can I also use it as an alternative for anti-static mat?

you'll be fine without either. just touch something metal before you start to discharge any static you might have

don't wear fuzzy socks while you build

assemble the motherboard on top of the box it came in

The risk of causing damage to your components through static discharge is incredibly low. They're more practical for people who spend all day working on building/fixing PCs, but for building a single computer once off the risk is incredibly minimal so they're often not worth the cost.

If you're on a budget then don't buy either. Just occasionally touch a metal object (such as the PC case) to ground yourself and discharge any static that you may have built up.

CPU: Intel i7 6700k  | Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170x Gaming 5 | RAM: 2x16GB 3000MHz Corsair Vengeance LPX | GPU: Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080ti | PSU: Corsair RM750x (2018) | Case: BeQuiet SilentBase 800 | Cooler: Arctic Freezer 34 eSports | SSD: Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 840 500GB + Crucial MX500 2TB | Monitor: Acer Predator XB271HU + Samsung BX2450

Most important thing is common sense.

(even if it isn't that common)

And thinking at least twice before doing anything when you're new to building PC.

4 minutes ago, Spotty said:

The risk of causing damage to your components through static discharge is incredibly low.

Depends entirely on environment and climate.

I can guarantee there are places when ESD zapping stuff would be as easy as sitting into chair and touching exposed circuitry.

On 21/09/2018 at 7:08 PM, EsaT said:

Most important thing is common sense.

(even if it isn't that common)