A good back-up external hard drive for Mac ?

Hi everyone,

I'm an art student doing mostly photography and I am currently looking for a good external hard drive to have a backup of all my work (no SSD as I won't be using this drive all the time), so what I am looking for is a reliable drive with at least 4To of storage. 

Knowing that I only work on macOS Sierra with one of these new Mac Book Pro 13", which product do you think will fit my needs the best ?

Thanks for your help !

3 minutes ago, Lenovo1984 said:

Do you already have a USB-C to USB-A adapter/dongle?

Yes I already have one.

Just now, Chromaa said:

Yes I already have one.

Then the drive @LukeSavenije posted should be fine. It's USB powered, so you don't need a power brick. You may have to format it when you get it for use with MacOS, but that shouldn't be a big deal at all. 

2 hours ago, Lenovo1984 said:

Then the drive @LukeSavenije posted should be fine. It's USB powered, so you don't need a power brick. You may have to format it when you get it for use with MacOS, but that shouldn't be a big deal at all. 

I have this model, its good! Format as ExFat, you can use seamlessly with win/OSX

Edit: If you don't need the portability get a desktop version for slightly more reliability. Would be stationary on your desk so no risk of being knocked around, dropping. etc. You also usually get more gigs per $.

Edited by DustonFoster
More info

Current Rig

Thermaltake Tempered Glass Chassis W/ 3 LED Fans
Side Mounted MSI GTX 1070 8GB Armour Edition
Gigabyte Gaming 7 Mobo
KabyLake i7 7700k
Thermaltake AIO Cooler - Dual RGB Fans
Corsair 16GB DDR4 3000Mhz
EVGA 750w PSU
500GB Samsung EVO M.2
750GB Crucial SSD
1TB WD HDD
Win 10 Pro