got thermal paste on the back of my 6600k idk what to do now.

Hello, as i was taking the cpu out of its socket so i could swap it in my new msi z170a gaming m5 mobo, some thermal paste got on the back of it and partially on the middle. im not sure what to do here besides clean the gold parts with 90%+ iso rubbing alcohol. am i screwed? should i just buy a new cpu or am i ok? serious answers only please.

14962705584151630694491.jpg

I am not a pro but I'd say get some isopropyl alcohol (90% or more ideally) and some paper towel

Dampen the paper towel by putting it over the top and turning it over then wipe it off

Just now, CallMeMysterious said:

I am not a pro but I'd say get some isopropyl alcohol (90% or more ideally) and some paper towel

Dampen the paper towel by putting it over the top and turning it over then wipe it off

Then let it dry for a little bit. I take no responsibility for any damage.

Just wipe it off with Alcohol, it should be fine. 

Please quote our replys so we get a notification and can reply easily. Never cheap out on a PSU, or I will come to watch the fireworks. 

PSU Tier List

My specs

Spoiler

PC:

CPU: Intel Core i5-6600K @4.8GHz
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-U14S 
Motherboard:  ASUS Maximus VIII Hero 
GPU: Zotac AMP Extreme 1070 @ 2114Mhz
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 
Storage: Samsung 850 EVO-Series 500GB 
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB
Case: Cooler Master MasterCase Pro 5 
Power Supply: EVGA 750W G2

Peripherals 

Keyboard: Corsair K70 LUX Browns
Mouse: Logitech G502 
Headphones: Kingston HyperX Cloud Revolver 

Monitor: U2713M @ 75Hz

Carefully lick it till is gone.

No, seriously now: clean with alcohol sounds good, but very important question: Is it a conductive or a non-conductive thermal paste?

Get some lint free cloths and try to wipe it off and pray you don't kill your cpu

Im mostly on discord now and you can find me on my profile

My Build: Xeon 2630L V, RX 560 2gb, 8gb ddr4 1866, EVGA 450BV