£60-£70 Server Challange

OK, so here is a challenge...

I have a budget of £60-£70 to create a server that will either:

1) Store data such as Photo's, Personal Documents etc...

2) Be a web server, (To collect data from my Arduino).

I need advice on the parts that I should use. I have never built a server before so this is why I am asking.

I don't mind searching around on various second hand not to mention any names *Ebay Cough Cough*. I also thought it would be a nice challenge for people who know what to

build for a server.

Thank you and have a nice day!

Sincerely Andy.

3 minutes ago, Isvan said:

Id say your best bet is a Raspberry Pi

The most expensive part becomes data storage

The problem with that is it is extremely underpowered and leaves little to no room for upgrading/expansion.

I'm looking for a solution that is upgradable from its base hardware such as more RAM and such.

Just now, scooterandy11 said:

The problem with that is it is extremely underpowered and leaves little to no room for upgrading/expansion.

I'm looking for a solution that is upgradable from its base hardware such as more RAM and such.

look for any bankrupcy auctions in your country, i often find old servers on there. they are noisy, they will raise your power bill by 50% and they might light your house on fire, but they are the cream de la cream you're going to get at that pricepoint.

Hi dude

Really need to know more about your storage expectations really.

As Isvan says, a Raspberry Pi is almost certainly the way to go, but then it's a decision about 256GB memory card vs a cheap ebay 1 - 2TB usb drive.

I'm assuming you have basic infrastructure?  i.e. a router/switch with a spare port and some USB power wall warts lying around?

If not things will get more expensive quickly.

There are plenty of articles on how to setup the Pi as a storage server, and Web server side of things won't take up much resource at all.

3 minutes ago, scooterandy11 said: