What kind of plug is this?

SkylakeAlex6700k

I'm new to Ethernet cables as I am used to wifi, so what kind of plug is this? It plugs into my computer but I need a longer one. I need to know which one to buy. Also, is this plug compatible with the strix x99?

image.jpeg

2 minutes ago, TheAmazingCookieFromSquare said:

Just get a Cat-6 RJ45

ez

What is the difference between cat5e and cat6. And between rj45 and 8p8c?

thanks

That's a regular network cable, to keep it simple.

Every motherboard for the last 10+ years i think by now has a connector for it.

Just go to your local hardware store and get an internet cable that's the length you want.

There are different types of cable that are capable of specific speeds, but if you are coming from a wireless connection it shouldn't matter.

Every wire that's available today beats most wifi things :P

If you want my attention, quote meh! D: or just stick an @samcool55 in your post :3

Spying on everyone to fight against terrorism is like shooting a mosquito with a cannon

6 minutes ago, SkylakeAlex6700k said:

I'm new to Ethernet cables as I am used to wifi, so what kind of plug is this? It plugs into my computer but I need a longer one. I need to know which one to buy. Also, is this plug compatible with the strix x99?

-snip-

The technical name for the plug is RJ-45. But if you ask for an ethernet cable someone will get you what you need.

Breaking things 1 day at a time

That seems to be a RJ45 ethernet cable. Anything, cat5/5e/6 will work.

Planning on trying StarCitizen (Highly recommended)? STAR-NR5P-CJFR is my referal link 

Just now, SkylakeAlex6700k said:

thanks

In simple the wiring is different and cat 6 is more future proof for when gigabit internet speeds arrive to everywhere in the world.

For more in depth on wiring and stuff is here: https://www.firefold.com/blog/difference-between-cat5-vs-cat6-cables/

rj45 is the standered connector used in today's devices.