Synology/Qnap For Home Media

As the title states I am looking for a Nas either 2 bay or 4. I want to be able to run Plex with ease and will upgrade the memory most likely on the unit as I see most from Qnap need it/can be. I want to use this hooked up to my tv while also having it hooked to my network for saving files and such. I am new to these so if this seems noobish my bad just want to make sure I get something that will do what I am looking for. Thought about building my own but its hard to beat the price on some of these units.

I7 5820k, Asus X99 Sabertooth, 980Ti Classified, 32gb Gskill Ripjaws 4, Corsair Rm1000i, Samsung 950 Pro, Custom Loop Xspc Cpu Block Ek Gpu Block, Windows 10, Define S. Acer Predator XB271HU

Would really need to know your budget to be able to advise you on which one!

1 minute ago, aeshaynes said:

Would really need to know your budget to be able to advise you on which one!

Ah my Bad. Trying to stay under 600 U.S without drives if possible.

I7 5820k, Asus X99 Sabertooth, 980Ti Classified, 32gb Gskill Ripjaws 4, Corsair Rm1000i, Samsung 950 Pro, Custom Loop Xspc Cpu Block Ek Gpu Block, Windows 10, Define S. Acer Predator XB271HU

I can't really speak for a Qnap as I've never used one before, however I can definitely vouch for Synology's nas products.

I would strongly recommend the Synology's plus series, in particular this model (DS716+) https://www.synology.com/en-global/products/DS716+

Features:

• 2 Drive bays
  • 2 Network Nics
  • USB 3.0 Ports
  • Read / Write up to 200MB/S
  • Under $500

In addition to the above it also runs Synology's diskstation software, and from personal experience I can say that this platform is really awesome.

It also supports Synology's upcoming version 6 Beta.

Connor Freebairn - ConnorFreebairn@newman.cumbria.sch.uk
IT Technician & Certified computer geek.

19 minutes ago, Redportal said: