Plug/Unplug Headphones when turning on AMP

Denoxx

Hey guys

I'm new to the audio-world, I've finally decided to switch from my gaming-headset (G930) to real headphones (currently looking at the DT880).

I've bought an AMP/DAC combo-unit, the Yulong U100, which was on sale on massdrop.

Now, I've never had an AMP before, and I found multiple threads about how turning your AMP on with headphones plugged in, can seriously damage them, but on the other hand turning the AMP on without headphones would damage the AMP, so I'm a bit confused.

I know that there is some relay-mechanism in some AMPs, preventing them from damaging the headphones when leaving them plugged in, but unfortunately I haven't found any evidence if the U100 has something like this.

I'm used to just turning my headset on and play, how is that with a combo like this? I'm going to use them for gaming and music on my PC.

Is there anyone with a U100 who could explain me how I should treat my equipment?

Don't have a U100, but if an amp has a hard time turning on without either damaging itself or your headphones, the amp is retarded.

In Placebo We Trust - Resident Obnoxious Objective Fangirl (R.O.O.F) - Your Eyes Cannot Hear
Haswell Overclocking Guide | Skylake Overclocking GuideCan my amp power my headphones?

Don't have a U100, but if an amp has a hard time turning on without either damaging itself or your headphones, the amp is retarded.

:) Well I didn't say it is the case with the U100, actually I'm trying to find out. 

Posts like http://forums.stevehoffman.tv/threads/headphone-amp-ok-to-turn-on-without-phones-plugged-in.263680/ are, what make me insecure. I dont want to damage anything.