Vague HT upgrade feedback

Simon Bruun

Hi

The latest LTT video of Linus reworking his living room HT setup got the thinking about my setup. 

I've been running a Marantz SR7005 since 2012. with a same aged KEF Serie R 5.1 speaker system.
The TV is an LG OLED65E6V with horrible burn in by now. It is also used as a PC, so Taskbar and Icons are always visible, so the TV could be up for a switch, in the near future too.  

I don't have many issues with my current setup, but are a few i could mention

• There are some weird subwoofer "blurps", when watching flow TV, sounds like wrong signals getting passed through to the woofer, it is just an annoying out of place noise. 
  • I never really had a good a surround feeling, I can hear them, and of cause when you fiddle with the system and run demo videos and really listen, I hear them. But when I casual consume content I don't really notice them. 
  • Overhead sound - I never actually listened to a HT with overhead sound, I feel like it could be nice to have, preferable something that can bounce off the ceiling.
  • SR7005 can not passthrough 4k video. Fortunately my UHD player had the possibility to only send sound out of one HDMI and 4K Video out of another HDMI. But sadly I've gotten lazy and only stream now.  

When I mention upgrade I mean a new receiver, and perhaps some additional speakers. 

I guess my vague question is "Should i look into upgrading my system". Things that could effect my decision.

• Has anything hit the market that will "blow my mind" in the last 11 years - Like overhead speakers, and Dolby Atmos like sound.
  • Has room correction gotten better, I think I have a horrible room for HT, so even better room correction could be nice. 
  • Anything that I completely missed in the HT market in the last 11 years that you just can't live without today ? 

Or put in another way, can I breathe new life/excitement into my current HT, and what steps should i take to make that happen ?