Electirity, wall plug with no ground/earth

socialbeaver

Hello, 

I hope someone can help me out here as I'm no expert in electric wiring. 

I'm renting a place in Thailand and none of the plugs in the rooms have any ground, so not something I can really change unless I want to move out. Also there isn’t anything I could clamp on metal that is grounded, all the pipes are PVC and there is not heater :) 

But on some devices like my raspberry Pi in a metal case (great for passive cooling in the heat here) I get a bit of a "tingle sensation" and a hum when I run my finger on the case... 

Also, if I'm out of luck and touch certain part of my notebook I get a little feeling like a pinch sometimes... 

So, for certain a ground is missing here and I'm getting a little bit of a charge on my fingers. 

Is there something portable I could use or is getting an online UPS to “clean” up my current my best solution? 

Thanks 

1 minute ago, socialbeaver said:

So, for certain a ground is missing here and I'm getting a little bit of a charge on my fingers. 

Is there something portable I could use or is getting an online UPS to “clean” up my current my best solution? 

The feeling could be annoying, but it's not dangerous. It has not much to do with "dirty power" as you may suspect, it's simply due to how the power supply of the device you use is wired. Even on perfectly clean power this can happen.

The way to deal with this problem is to somehow ground the equipment. You mentioned there's essentially no way of doing this, but I suggest you have another look to make sure because this is really the cheapest and most effective solution. 

Using a UPS might help, but indeed you'd need an online UPS, which is probably a bit expensive.

Otherwise you could try to use an isolation transformer.

Move out.