ECC v non-ECC RAM for Threadripper 3970X

I’m building a high end desktop for optical design and CAD work.  Ray trace optical design is very memory intensive, so I need 256GB.

My question is what is the real world difference between ECC and non-ECC RAM?  I have been doing this type of work for a few years on an Intel x99 system and have only encountered BSD twice.  Comments and suggestions appreciated.

Basic build:

MOBO:  ASUS TRX40-XE

CPU:   Threadripper 3970X

RAM:  256GB

GPU:  Quadra RTX 6000

Boot:  Samsung 980 Pro 512GB

Data:  Samsung 980 Pro 1TB

ECC lowers the chance of memory errors, and makes it almost impossible for memory to be corrupted. The problem with non ecc is you have no idea if there has been a memory error. 

How much extra is ecc? Id get it if it isn't too much more. 

ECC ram has an "error correcting chip" in it that detects corrupted data and automatically corrects it.

also have you thought about an rtx 3080, or 3090 over a quadro 6000? or two?

AMD blackout rig

cpu: ryzen 5 3600 @4.4ghz @1.35v

gpu: rx5700xt 2200mhz

ram: vengeance lpx c15 3200mhz

mobo: gigabyte b550 auros pro 

psu: cooler master mwe 650w

case: masterbox mbx520

fans:Noctua industrial 3000rpm x6

I could be wrong, but, ECC is ECC and non-ECC is non-ECC and never the tween shall meet...
It is your mobo that decides what it will accept, at least it used to be that way.  Check the Qualified vendor list for what types will work. ECC is usually for servers and mainframes meant to do millions of tiny computations rather than fewer large computations.

It must be true, I read it on the internet...

ECC is for errors that occur in memory, bit flips and the like. In a normal desktop environment though the type of errors ECC protects against doesn't really help the application. It's more for servers and server type applications (File Servers, Web Servers, Database Servers, VM servers, etc)