Does it actually matter which AIB RTX 3080 card you buy?

MarioKart641
Go to solution Solved by MarioKart641,

Thanks folks :)

I'll read up on build quality/durability as it's a more important factor for me personally over benchmark performance.

Hi All,

Relative newbie here... I've been looking at the reviews of the new RTX 3080 performance for all the AIB cards in the market.

As an enthusiast who's not too fussed about peak performance i.e. overclocking, I don't see too much difference between the AIB cards apart from a few extra frames per second and marginally lower gpu temp.

Does it actually matter which card I end up getting? Like, it is going to be a game changer between the MSI Gaming X Trio vs the Zotac Trinity?

I'm looking to build a 1440p ultrawide gaming setup to play the latest AAA titles with a 120Hz refresh rate. Looking for more immersion in games rather than lowest response times for FPS.

Thanks

yes and no

Zotac trinity might be bad, but as long as it functions, then it's just like any other 3080, maybe within 5% perf difference at most (longetivity is another thing but -shrug-)

but if you're paying $700, wouldnt hurt to find out which card is better built anyways

asus TUF sells for the same price (MSRP anyways) and it's miles better from what i can tell from reviews

-sigh- feeling like I'm being too negative lately

Well if you don't care about the few extra frames and lower temperature, not really. I guess the first months the biggest difference will be availability. I'd pick an AIB that gets good reviews generally across generations of GPU, mostly looking at build quality and customer service (in case of RMA), and which has a card that looks good if you have a window in your case.

PSU tier list // Motherboard tier list // Community Standards 

My System:

Spoiler