File Server For Scaling Capacity and Redundancy

Hi all,
I'm a complete networking newbie (Windows OS only so far)
Looking to make my first step away from just single do-everything desktop PC.
A friend had mentioned getting enterprise gear and Proxmox?  I wanted to check for your recommendations here.

Current Setup/Gear
Currently on i7 6700k on an Asus Z170-A motherboard
All SATA ports are tapped out with full HDD.
Currently no redundancy.  Making me more and more nervous.

I will require additional hardware.
Buy used enterprise hardware?
Or retire the 6700k for storage duties + add-in cards? And buy AMD Zen 3 in September?
Storage controller cards for now (for the next 3-4 months)?  For redunancy?

Useage

• Primary useage is for data hoarding,
  • These files, I don't ever want to lose: Work files, personal documents, videos, photos.
  • These files, I can afford to lose: Temporary large files, videos and Steam library

Needs

• Scaleable so I can continue to data hoard in the future (easy growth and migration?)
    less up-front cost of filling a server with drives?
  • Also can benefit from higher capacity drives coming out.
  • Redundancy

Wants

• Not to have to address drives individually, all in 1 cluster?
  • Maybe some sort of online backup?  Currently using Backblaze on my Windows desktop

Concerns

• Going down a proprietary route (saw Synology NAS fail on GamersNexus).
  • HD failure, ease of detection, maintenance and replacement

Connections

• Currently only connection is 1 desktop PC.
  • May wish to scale to 2nd PC for HTPC
  • Streaming to mobile devices maybe

How much do you care about power usage? Old server stuff loves to use lots of power. They can also be loud.

From what you have listed, you don't need much cpu power, so you current cpu should be fine.

What case do you have? The server cases are nice as you can puts tons of drives in them.