Unable to decide which programming language to learn

Karan Chopra

Hello there,

My name Karan. I have been building pc(s) since I was 7 years old and now I want to learn programming.But I am confused which language should I learn,As I want to learn programming to develop mobile games and pc games and also low end mods for pc games like the low spec gamer.

Any help would be massively appreciated.?

It really doesn't matter, once you figure out how programming works learning a new language is easy. If you want to try mobile development then the only choices are Java or Kotlin for Android and Objective C or Swift for iOS. I would recommend Kotlin but as I said it doesn't matter that much.

8 minutes ago, Karan Chopra said:

mobile games and pc games and also low end mods for pc games like the low spec gamer.

Don't aim for the moon right away, start with the basics or you'll just get lost.

Don't ask to ask, just ask... please 🤨

sudo chmod -R 000 /*

42 minutes ago, Karan Chopra said:

Hello there,

My name Karan and I am 14 years old.I have been building pc(s) since I was 7 years old and now I want to learn programming.But I am confused which language should I learn,As I want to learn programming to develop mobile games and pc games and also low end mods for pc games like the low spec gamer.

Any help would be massively appreciated.?

Hey Karan, cool that you want to learn programming! It's a very nice hobby and of course a great career path too.

I can't tell you 100% what language to learn, but what I can always recommend is: don't learn to program, program to learn.

What I mean by that, is that learning how to approach problem-solving is infinitely more important that knowing a language from your head.

So in that sense, I don't think it matters what you use as a first language, as it's all about being able to adapt as a programmer in the 'real world'.