Content creation, essestials for good (not pro) production?

Kitsan

Hi all,

I'm thinking about setting up a youtube channel to record my next build as I want to learn how to produce media to help support a business idea I have (unrelated to PC hardware), I was hoping someone could give me a list of things i'll need to get in order to get a good level or production on a limited budget.

To set the record straight... I'm a complete newbie to video production so i'm hoping you can help me with a list of essentials:

Video camera

Tripod

Editing software (any recommendations?)

Microphone (I already have a blue yeti, will that be good enough?)

Lighting (no idea)

+ anything else i've missed

I have a budget of $800 and I would ideally like to spend less (i've got no problems buying second hand)

Also if there are any good guides or content creators that focus on this kind of thing, i'd really appreciate it if you could point me in their direction, im trying to learn as much as possible?

Monitor: Alienware AW2518HF CPU: 9900K @ 5.1GHz Heatsink: 2x360MM Custom Loop GPU: MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti GAMING X TRIO RAM: Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 2x8GB 4400Mhz Mobo: Asus Maximus XI Gene Case: Fractal Design Meshify S2 PSU: Corsair RM1000x Storage: Seagate Firecuda 510 2TB M.2, Adata XPG SX8200 PRO 256GB M.2

8 minutes ago, remus243 said:

Video camera

Tripod

Lighting (no idea)

phone

cheap 20$ one will work
free blender

dont need one

any house lamps

start with cheap free stuff first. the equipment you use is maybe 10% of what content creation is about. the other 90% is subject matter and how entertaining the content is

You can literally just use a phone camera and phone microphone and some sunlight.

Put the phone on a chair or shelf, no need for a tripod.

You don't even need any editing software if you do everything in one take.