Extra HDD bays needed

Zelatrix

I have a CoolerMaster MasterBox Lite 5 tower, and it has a spec that says it has one SSD rack and two combo bays. I have now filled up all these slots, but am in need of more storage, and I would like to expand with another drive, as I still want to use the current hard drive that's in the tower. Does anybody know how I can expand the number of drive bays, and where I can buy the bays with the locking mechanism that you squeeze to release from the chassis? The case came with two, but I would like another one to add more drives and I can't seem to find them anywhere. If this isn't possible, does anyone know how I could go about installing another hard drive? 

Additionally, all my drives are Seagate drives, but I have read reviews online that say that Seagate drives are now shingled and are only suitable for backup as you get less storage due to the overlapping platters. Is it still advisable to go with Seagate, or choose another manufacturer such as Western Digital? 

12 minutes ago, Zelatrix said:

Additionally, all my drives are Seagate drives, but I have read reviews online that say that Seagate drives are now shingled and are only suitable for backup as you get less storage due to the overlapping platters. Is it still advisable to go with Seagate, or choose another manufacturer such as Western Digital? 

This depends on the exact drive model, both brands havae a mix of smr and non smr drives. smr drives are fine for many desktop uses for things like movies and photos and games.

I'll personally just go with NAS altogether with used PC Parts and old school cases that have like 8 3.5" bays.

You might consider an external DAS unit, depending on your intended use. Something like a DROBO, Sans Digital, etc. You can pick usb3, eSata, or SAS, again depending on your needs.

Personally, I got tired of not having enough hot-swap bays, so got a Sans Digital TowerRAID TR8X6G and a Highpoint dual 6Gb SAS Raid Card for each machine.