Rasperry Pi 3 - Fastest Boot to Application

cluelessgenius

so im making a smart mirror.

original plan was using windows iot on a pi.

then i noticed i have no constant power outlet in my bathroom. its all tied to the light switch meaning i only have power when the lights are on.

since windows iot is slow af booting up i guess its back to linux

im a noob at linux

how do i boot straight into an application that needs network/wifi and graphics for dispaying text on screen the fastest way possible?

EDIT: since i dont know anything idc if its python , Qt, or what just some easy way to realize a fast booting smart mirror. my thouhgt was on boot up it could even display data from the last time it synchronized (weather and shit) and then update it in the background so the user at least doesnt stare at a blank screen until its done

"You know it'll clock down as soon as it hits 40°C, right?" - "Yeah ... but it doesnt hit 40°C ... ever  😄"

GPU: MSI GTX1080 Ti Aero @ 2 GHz (watercooled) CPU: Ryzen 5600X (watercooled) RAM: 32GB 3600Mhz Corsair LPX MB: Gigabyte B550i PSU: Corsair SF750 Case: Hyte Revolt 3

3 hours ago, cluelessgenius said:

EDIT: since i dont know anything idc if its python , Qt, or what just some easy way to realize a fast booting smart mirror. my thouhgt was on boot up it could even display data from the last time it synchronized (weather and shit) and then update it in the background so the user at least doesnt stare at a blank screen until its done

The fastest booting way is probably going to be running your own apps baremetal. That will, of course, require significantly more work.

Barring that, I think there is an RTOS available for Pi. That could be worth looking into, but most RTOSs probably won't have all the features that you're looking for, like internet connection management.

ENCRYPTION IS NOT A CRIME

2 hours ago, straight_stewie said: