Vega Frontier fair value?

badreg

What is a fair current valuation for a Vega Frontier Edition? I have been casually browsing Craigslist for a cheap 1080ti, and a Vega FE popped up locally a few days ago. It's an intriguing card, because it combines gaming capabilities with pro features (10-bit color, 16GB HBM). It normally costs 2-4x for a Quadro or Radeon Pro compared to an equivalent GeForce or Radeon card. The Vega FE received almost universally poor reviews at launch, but with the prices of Vega cards coming down, is it actually a pretty decent value at or below $400?

Given that new Vega 64 cards are selling for $400, I am thinking of offering the seller $350 for the Vega FE. I don't absolutely need the pro features. I am a photographer professionally, so 10-bit color is a nice to have, but not a must. I don't really do anything that would benefit from the 16GB of HBM. For work purposes, I use a 4k60 display, and while I only game lightly, my concern is that the Vega will show its age a lot sooner than a 1080ti at 4k gaming. Also, due to the blower design, I will also have to spend about $100 to upgrade the cooler to a Morpheus II in order not to lose my sanity from the noise.

What would you guys do in my situation? I currently run a R9 390X, which performs perfectly well for work, but obviously doesn't keep up with modern games at higher than 1080p.

2 minutes ago, handymanshandle said:

From what I remember, AMD basically abandoned the card, so I'd say no.

As in no driver support at all? I didn't know this, but that is a pretty shitty move given that these cards were marketed to professionals.

3 minutes ago, handymanshandle said:

From what I remember, AMD basically abandoned the card, so I'd say no.

The card is still just a V64 if you use the common drivers meaning that if you can find one for about the price of a V56 at least it already makes sense... if you're into an AMD card that is.

Personal Desktop":