Do I require an Amp and a DAC ?

Angel Yuno

I've recently bought sennheisers 599 and the sounds is quiet compared to my previous gaming headphones. I am stearing away form the gaming brandig to glorify products, and strive for raw audio quality. With this being said, I have done some research and it seems that my headphones do require an Amp ? Im not 100% sure so i would like some help with this. Simply put, do i require both DAC and Amp, or amp/DAC alone, and if so which one to pick for it to be sufficient for my headphones. Or perhaps i should go for a sound card along with it (or perhapd only a sound car) ? Any advice and help is greatly appreciated as I dive into the whole audio world. Thank you in advance ^^

The 599 shouldn't need an amp, but you could see if an amp would give you better results (it most likely would).

As a beginner, I would suggest that if you are getting a amp, to try getting a DAC/AMP combo like the SMSL M3, SMSL SD793 or the SABAJ D3.

If you don't want to spend £50+, I'd suggest the Creative SoundBlaster X G1, as it less expensive and can still provide enough power to run 200-ish Ohm headphones, and the DAC isn't awful on it.

REMILIA Mk.IIIE CPU: Ryzen 9 3900X, Cooler: Arctic Freezer II 240 (Noctua NT-H2), RAM: 4x 8Gb sticks of Patriot Viper Steel Series 3600 CL17, Mobo: AsRock X570 Taichi, GPU: Inno3D RTX 3080 iChill x4 10G, Storage: 1TB Intel 670p NVME SSD boot drive, a few 1TB and 512gb SATA/NVME SSDs for game storage, 6 hard drives 1-4 TB, PSU: Corsair RM750 MY2019, Case: Cooler Master Mastercase 5 MC500 (with add-ons, Noctua NF-A14 and Arctic P14 fans), PCIE Cards: Cheap Chinese Marvell 88SE9215 4 port SATA card, Sonnet Allegro USB3.2 Card Monitors: ViewSonic Elite XG270QC (165hz, 1ms MPRT, 1440p, VA, Freesync PP, pneumatic stand), Hp Z27n (IPS, 60hz, 1440p, 8Ms), iiyama G2530HSU-B (75Hz, Freesync, one in landscape, one in Portrait, all on pneumatic monitor stands).