c++ or java for game programming?

snorthd

I've learned a little of both but before I get more in-depth in wanna find out which would be best for 3D game programming. So please tell me what your thoughts are.

For 3D game programming C++, for simple 2d games I would go for java, but I'm biased. I'm personally not a fan of Java having learnt C++ first But its all preference, My suggestion though is niether. I suggest C# with something like XNA 4.0 which does most of the engine construction for you, works easy for windows games and gives the option to port to 360. Certian sections require a bit more indepth knowledge of programming such as custom content pipelines (for things like model animatoin) but thre are packages out there that deal with that and you would most likely need the same if not more indepth knowledge for java or C++. I'm in my last year of my computer games programming degree so i've done quite a bit of everything when it comes to programming the different sections of games.

Personally, I would say C++, the memory management is better, not relying on a GC, After pursuing minecraft modding, then moving to work with c++ c++ just feels much more suited to a gaming platform, I feel java should be left for server apps and android programming. Not fully fledged games.

Arch Linux on Samsung 840 EVO 120GB: Startup finished in 1.334s (kernel) + 224ms (userspace) = 1.559s | U mad windoze..?

I agree with lutzee there with regrds to the memory management but it can be a pain to get your head around at first. one more benefit of using C# for XNA is this, http://monogame.codeplex.com/

An open source version of xna which has compatibility for near enough everything, from ios to linux and metro apps. Must check this link out if you are interested. There are thousands of XNA tutorials out there and http://gamedev.stackexchange.com/ is a pretty good site for help when getting started.