cant get mac to boot off of bootable usb

MrPalmer92

hi,

i hope that this is the right place to post this.

I recently acquired a mac pro from 2008 which came with no hdd installed (meaning it came with no os). i slapped one in and followed a tutorial on how to make a bootable usb drive. While making the mac os drive, i tried a windows boot drive for kicks. I managed to get to the os selection screen thought holding ALT after power up but the machine froze up when selecting windows. After calling that a loss, i tried the same thing with the mac os drive i made, but every time that i hold ALT the screen turns white with a curser that i can move, and thats it. 

I have no idea what to do and would like help resolving this. I don't have any access to any other mac machines in case any other trouble shooting steps involved one. Any help with either booting to mac os or windows would be nice. 

Thanks

P.s

i have no experience with macs (ive been a windows user my whole life) but think that the mac os boot drive doesnt work, so maybe making an actual functional one through windows might work (will need help with that).

I was also trying to install os x el capitan if that changes anything

Since you dont have a mac I am gong to assume it is not a "authorized" version of OSX. Are you sure the 2008 Mac Pro can use El Capitan?

also try just plugging it in, and holding option R to put it into recovery. Then if that works it will just download its version of OSX off Apple's site and install.

17 minutes ago, lieder1987 said:

also try just plugging it in, and holding option R to put it into recovery. Then if that works it will just download its version of OSX off Apple's site and install.

Command+R, not Option+R

She/Her

Use cmd+r to get into the recovery menu and reinstall from the recovery menu. 

There is a key combo that can be pressed to force a reinstall if you have the folder with a question mark when booting, although I cant find it now but I have used it.