Thermal Throttling

I had my PC shipped to me last September, and it was a beefy lad. The first game I downloaded and played was Space Engineers (Steam), and I was ranging in frame rates from 100 to 150. After a few minutes of playing, video would freeze up and audio would still play, forcing me to shut down. After scrounging through other forums, I was recommended to turn down my CPU speed in AMD Catalyst. I bumped the speed down form 4.7 GHz to 4.5, and then put it back to 4.7. Since then, there has been no freezing... quite odd...

Thinking that my PC was in top shape, I started playing other games. The SIMS 4, 7 Days to Die, Skyrim, Planetside 2, and Red Orchestra were just a few (at this time, I only had two fans for case cooling and a water cooling unit for my processor). I started to notice a pattern of frame loss; for about twenty seconds or so, I would drop from 60+ FPS to about 5-10 FPS (that being twenty seconds of 5-10 FPS), then go back up to 60+ FPS for about fifteen seconds (that being 60+ FPS constant for fifteen seconds).

I had the though of my RAM being too low in speed or amount, considering my memory usage was almost 15% constant at just the desktop and 60-90% while playing games. Crawling through forums again, a lad had recommended I blow a desk fan into my PC to see what happens. I did this, and tested out a few games. I would run 60+ FPS for about thirty seconds now and only have the low time at 10-15 FPS for about ten seconds (in voxel based games, frames are vice versa). So, I went out and bought some 2400 RPM fans, and left it at that (I still had the frame rate issue on the extent described above).